The Volkswagen Golf Family Earns 5-Star Safety Ratings from NHTSA

The 2016 Volkswagen Golf, Golf R and Golf SportWagen four-door models have earned a 5-star overall safety rating from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), which runs the government’s New Car Assessment Program (NCAP).

2016 Volkswagen Golf

The 2016 Golf, Golf R, and Golf SportWagen four-door models are included with the Passat, Jetta, and Beetle coupe as 2016 Volkswagen models that have earned overall 5-Star Ratings. NHTSA’s NCAP provides front, side, and rollover crash test ratings, all aimed at helping consumers in making their vehicle purchasing decisions.

Related: Introducing the new 2016 Volkswagen Passat

“Volkswagen is delighted that the Golf family models have earned the highest 5-star overall crash test rating from the government—providing further validation that Volkswagen produces some of the safest vehicles in the industry,” said Joerg Sommer, Vice President Product Marketing and Strategy, Volkswagen of America, Inc. “Our vehicles have numerous safety and driver assistance technologies that work to help prevent collisions, and help protect occupants when an accident is unavoidable.”


Four Volkswagen models also earned Top Safety Pick+ ratings from the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS). The 2016 Volkswagen Golf 4-door (including the Golf SportWagen variant), Golf GTI 4-door, Jetta and Passat models have been awarded 2016 Top Safety Pick + ratings by IIHS when equipped with the optional Forward Collision Warning and Autonomous Emergency Braking (Front Assist) system.

Get exceptional military discounts on Volkswagen models

at Military AutoSource!


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *